Manipur: CM Biren Singh wins from Heingang constituency

CM Biren Singh wins from Heingang constituency with huge margin

As the results of the assembly elections in Manipur state are being counted, incumbent Chief Minister N Biren Singh of the BJP has won by a margin of 17,000 votes from the Heingang constituency against Congress rival P Sharatchandra Singh.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, which decided to run alone in the northeastern state, is leading in 28 seats, while the Congress is leading in nine seats, according to the Heingang Election results on the Election Commission’s website.

Moreover, on Thursday, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh offered prayers at Imphal’s Shree Govindajee Temple. Speaking to reporters, he said, “I have prayed to God, that the coming five years would be tantamount to the last 5 years with peace and development and that BJP forms government with full majority.”

Meanwhile, Kimneo Haokip Hangshing of the newly formed Kuki People’s Alliance is leading by 289 votes in Saikul.

The Alliance was founded in January, and it has only run candidates in two seats: Singhat and Saikul. 

According to early indications, the BJP is leading the Manipur Election 2022 with 28 seats, Congress with 9, JDU with 3, RPI(A) with 1, NPF with 6, NPP with 10, and Others with one.

In the Thoubal district, former Chief Minister Ibobi Singh is leading by 1225 votes. In the 2017 election, INC candidate Okraim Ibobi Singh won the Thoubal Assembly constituency. 

The BJP in Manipur is inching towards the majority mark of 31.

In addition, the BJP is leading in the Heirok Assembly constituency.

Manipur Election 2022 was held in two phases on February 28 and March 5. Counting of votes for 60 assembly seats in Manipur commenced at 8 am on Thursday, March 10.

The counting process began with the calculation of postal ballots, which was followed by votes cast in electronic voting machines (EVMs) beginning at 8.30 a.m. in 41 counting halls designated for the purpose, according to an election official.

For more Latest News Updates visit our website-

For Latest News updates about Arunachal Pradesh Visit-