Tripura Assembly polls: Voting begins amid tight security

Seyochung Sitimi

The polling for the Tripura Assembly elections began amid tight security on Thursday. The voting started at 7 am and will continue till 4 pm.

According to the Election Commission, over 28.14 lakh electorates of which 14,15,233 are male voters, 13,99,289 are women voters and 62 are of the third gender, are eligible to cast their franchise. The voting is underway at 3,337 polling stations.

Adequate security arrangements have been made for the polls. The state has 97 all-women-managed police stations. It has 94,815 voters in the 18-19 age group and 6,21,505 in the 22-29 age group. The highest number of voters are in the 40-59 age group at 9,81,089.

The fate of the 259 candidates will be sealed on 60 Assembly seats today.

The BJP is contesting on 55 seats and its ally, IPFT, on six seats. But both allies have fielded candidates in the Ampinagar constituency in Gomati district.

The Left will contest on 47 and Congress on 13 seats, respectively.Of the total 47 seats, the CPM will contest 43 seats while the Forward Bloc, Communist Party of India ( CPI) and Revolutionary Socialist Party ( RSP) will contest one seat each.

Tipra Motha, chaired by Tripura royal scion Pradyot Bikram Manikya Debbarma, is contesting at 42 seats.

Meanwhile, Trinamool Congress is contesting 28 seats and 58 independent candidates are also trying out their luck.

Over 28 lakh voters are eligible to cast their votes in the election for the 60-member assembly in the border state.

Tripura is the first state to go to the polls this year. While polling for Nagaland and Meghalaya assemblies will be held on February 27, five more states face elections this year in the run-up to the Lok Sabha elections in 2024.

A total of 259 candidates, including 20 women, are in the fray in Tripura. The counting of votes will be done on March 2.

Have a story to share? Email us [email protected]