‘Disturbed areas’ under AFSPA Reduced in Assam, Manipur and Nagaland


Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Thursday announced that the Union Home Ministry has considerably reduced the “disturbed areas” under the Armed Forces (Special) Powers Act (AFSPA) in Assam, Manipur and Nagaland and the order will come into effect from April 1, and would be applicable for six months.

However, it is to be mentioned that the tag hasn’t been completely removed. A Ministry official said, “The areas under the AFSPA have been considerably reduced in these three States; it has not been completely removed.”

The Ministry constituted a committee on December 26 last to study if the AFSPA could be withdrawn from some areas in Nagaland in the wake of growing civilian anger against a botched ambush by an elite armed forces unit that led to the killing of 13 civilians at Oting in Mon district on December 4

In Nagaland, the AFSPA was being removed from the jurisdiction of 15 police stations in seven districts but would remain active in 57 police stations in 13 districts. The decision was taken based on the committee’s recommendation.

“The disturbed area notification is in force in the whole of Nagaland from 1995. The Central government has accepted the recommendation of the committee for withdrawal of the AFSPA in a phased manner,” the Ministry said.

In Assam, the AFSPA was being removed completely from 23 districts and one district would be covered partially under it.

In Manipur, 15 police station areas in six districts of Manipur would be excluded from the disturbed area notification but the law would remain effective in 82 police stations in 16 districts..

In Arunachal Pradesh, the status quo remained- the AFSPA would remain in force in two police stations of Namsai and Mahadevapur and three districts of Tirap, Changlang, Longding.


For more Latest News Updates visit our website- https://www.eastnews.in/

For Arunachal Latest News updates Visit- https://www.eastnews.in/arunachal-pradesh-news/