EC Announces Bypoll Dates for Seven Rajya Sabha Seats

The Election Commission (EC) announced bypoll dates for seven Rajya Sabha seats that have become vacant due to various reasons, including one in Assam. According to the EC’s notification, Tamil Nadu has two such seats, while West Bengal, Assam, Maharashtra, Puducherry, and Madhya Pradesh each have one.

The elections for all seven seats will be held on October 4, according to the EC. Assembly Speaker Biswajit Daimary’s Rajya Sabha seat in Assam became vacant after he resigned from the upper house of Parliament and his previous party, the Bodoland People’s Front, and joined the BJP before the state’s recent elections.

Because he has yet to be elected to either house of Parliament, the BJP is likely to field Union minister and former Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal for the Assam seat. In its order, the EC stated that all “broad guidelines of COVID-19” must be followed throughout the election process, from the time of notification to the counting of votes.

For more Latest News Updates visit our website-

For Latest News updates about Arunachal Pradesh Visit-

Assam : Minister Ajanta Neog seeks lists of vacant posts within 4 days