Nagaland : End of by-poll public campaign

Public Campaign in the Southern Angami I and Pungro-Kiphire in Nagaland for the bye-election to the two Assembly constituencies ended on Sunday evening.

For the Southern Angami-I seat, three candidates ruling NDPP nominee Medo Yhokha, oppposition NPF’s Kikovi Kirha and Independent Seyievilie Peter Zashumo are competing against each other.

Five candidates , Khaseo Anar of Congress, Lirimong Sangtam of BJP and three Independents K. Shellumthong, T. Yangseo Sangtam and Kiusumew Yimchunger are competing for the Pungro-Kiphire seat.

For the ruling candidates in both the constituencies the campaign was done by Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, BJP state president and Minister for Higher and Technical Education Temjen Imna, Deputy CM Y Patton along Minister for Planning and Coordination Neiba Kronu, NDPP president Chingwang Konyak, Minister for Public Health Engineering Jacob Zhimomi and NDPP secretary general Abu Metha.

For the NPF candidate the campaignwas held by Opposition Leader T R Zeliang, former Speaker and Home Minister Thenucho Tunyi, NPF president Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu, and others.

On November 3rd, from 7am to 4 pm, the polling for the two seats will be held.