Bharat-series introduced new registration mark for New Vehicles

The Union Ministry of Road Transport and Highways has introduced a new registration mark under the Bharat series in order to facilitate the seamless transfer of passenger vehicle registration from one state to another (BH series).

When the owner of a vehicle with this registration mark moves from one state to another, the vehicle will not require a new registration mark.

Defence personnel, employees of the Central government, State governments, Central/State Public Sector Undertakings, and private sector companies or organisations with offices in four or more states or union territories will be able to register their vehicles under the new scheme on a voluntary basis.

The vehicle tax will be imposed for a period of two years or a multiple of two years. When relocating to a new state or UT, this scheme will allow personal vehicles to travel freely across India’s states and union territories. After the 14th year, the motor vehicle tax will be levied annually, and it will be half of what was previously charged for that vehicle.