Parliament winter session expected to end today

Parliament winter session

The Parliament Winter session is expected to end on Wednesday, a day ahead of schedule, according to news agency PTI. The session began on November 29 and was set to conclude on December 23.

With the government having completed the majority of its legislative agenda, the news agency reported that Parliament could be adjourned sine die on Wednesday.

The report comes a day after Parliament passed a bill to link electoral roll data with Aadhaar on Tuesday. The opposition staged a walkout in protest of the bill, while in the Rajya Sabha, high drama erupted after Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Derek O’Brien flung a rulebook at the reporters’ table, prompting his suspension from the House for “unruly behaviour.”

The Election Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2021, which has now been passed by both houses of Parliament, aims to eliminate duplication from electoral rolls in order to improve the credibility of the process.

It was passed amid well-attended protests by opposition parties, who shouted slogans throughout. After their demand for the Bill to be referred to a Select Committee was denied, the opposition leaders staged a walkout.

After an hour of debate, the bill was passed with members of several parties supporting it.

Since the start of the session on November 29, the Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu has suspended 12 MPs for their unruly behaviour during the monsoon session. Every day since then, the suspended MPs have held a protest near the Gandhi statue on the Parliament grounds.

Inside the house, some opposition members have been causing a ruckus, demanding that the government lift the suspension.

Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, Ripun Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain, and Akhilesh Prasad Singh are among the six Congress members who have been suspended. Two from the Trinamool Congress (Dola Sen and Shanta Chhetri), two from the Shiv Sena (Priyanka Chaturvedi and Anil Desai), and one each from the CPI (Binoy Viswam) and the CPM (Binoy Viswam) are also on the list (Elamaram Kareem).

During the passage of the General Insurance Business (Nationalisation) Amendment Bill, 2021, marshals were called to the upper house of Parliament after opposition members stormed the Well of the House.

For more Latest News Updates visit our website-

For Arunachal Latest News updates Visit-