Police books Shashi, Rajdeep among others under sedition

Member of Parliament Shashi Tharoor, journalists Rajdeep Sardesai, Vinod K Jose (Caravan), Mrinal Pande and others were booked by the Noida police under sedition, on Thursday.

Based on twitter posts and for spreading fake news relating to the death of a farmer during the tractor rally on January 26, 2021, an FIR was lodged at the Sector-20 police station.

The case was registered based on a complaint made by Arpit Mishra.

The FIR also mentions names like Zafar Agha, the Group Editor-in-Chief of National Herald, and Ananth Nath, the Editor of Caravan.

The journalists and politicians have been booked under sections :

153A [Promoting enmity between different groups on grounds of religion, race, place of birth, residence, language, etc., and doing acts prejudicial to maintenance of harmony],

153B [Imputations, assertions prejudicial to national-integration],

295A [Deliberate and malicious acts, intended to outrage religious feelings of any class by insulting its religion or religious beliefs],

298 [Uttering, words, etc., with deliberate intent to wound the religious feelings of any person],

504 [Intentional insult with intent to provoke breach of the peace], 506 [Criminal Intimidation],

505(2) [Statements conducing to public mischief],

124-A [Sedition],

34 [Acts done by several persons in furtherance of common intention] and

120-B [Punishment of criminal conspiracy] of the Indian Penal Code and section 66 of the Information Technology Act, 2000.