Appointment of new chiefs for Assam, Manipur BJP

Bhabesh Kalita was named as the president of Assam BJP and Sharda Devi was named as the president of Manipur unit on June 26(Saturday).

BJP National President JP Nadda made the appointments, which shall come into effect immediately, said party general secretary Arun Singh.

Kalita is a sitting MLA in the Assam assembly. He will be replacing Ranjeet Kumar Dass, who became a minister in the newly-formed government in Assam.

The BJP had won the recently held assembly polls in Assam.

Manipur will have its polls in the year 2022.

Sharda Devi will replace Saikhom Tikendra Singh, who succumbed to COVID-19 last month.