Bye-Poll Dates for Assembly constituencies in Manipur and Nagaland announced by ECI

Bye-poll schedule announced by the Election Commission of India (ECI) to fill vacancies in four Assembly constituencies in Manipur and Nagaland.

These include 14-Southern Angami-I and 60-Pungro Kiphire in Nagaland and 30-Lilong and 34-Wangjing Tentha in Manipur.

Along with Nagaland and Manipur, the ECI also announced the date for the bye-elections in one Lok Sabha seat in Bihar, and 52 Assembly constituencies in various states.

While voting in Nagaland has been scheduled for November 3, Manipur will vote on November 7.

The date of counting for the two assembly constituencies in Nagaland and Manipur will be held on November 10 along with the 52 other constituencies and one Parliamentary constituency in Bihar.

In Nagaland, the two seats were vacated after the sudden demise of Speaker Vikho-o Yhoshü of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) from 14-Southern Angami-I on December 30, 2019, and Naga People Front (NPF) MLA T. Torechu from 60-Pungro Kiphire AC on December 16, 2019.

In Manipur, the Congress MLAs representing these two constituencies submitted their resignations to the Assembly Speaker in August this year. Later, P Brojen of Wangjing Tentha joined the BJP while Abdul Nasir of Lilong hasn’t joined any party so far.

While addressing reporters, Nagaland’s Additional Chief Election Officer (CEO) Moa Aier said that as per the announcement of the bye-elections, the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) comes into force with immediate effect in the districts of Kohima and Kiphire where the Assembly constituencies will be going for bye-election, subject to the partial modification that, in case the constituency is compromised in the state capital or municipal corporations, then aforesaid instructions would be applicable in the constituency only.

“In all other cases, the MCC would be enforced in the entire district covering the constituency which will be going to polls. The MCC shall apply to all candidates, political parties and the state government,” he added.

He said that all guidelines have to be strictly followed during the election and all voters will have to wear a mask when they come to cast their votes as per the guidelines issued by the Election Commission of India.

“As per the instructions, postal ballot facilities will be available for senior citizens (above 80 years of age) and People with Disabilities,” he said.

According to the electoral data, there are 13,541 electorates and 22 polling stations in 14 Southern Angami-I AC while 60-Pungro Kiphire AC has a total of 29,346 electorates and 58 Polling stations.