Manipur : Model Code of Conduct for By-Polls comes into effect

The model code of conduct (MCC) for the by-polls scheduled to be held for five assembly seats of Manipur on November 7 has come into effect, informed a Manipur government official.

The five Assembly seats fall under Thoubal, Churachandpur, Kangpokpi and Imphal West districts.

A release, quoting Manipur Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) PK Singh, on Tuesday stated that Mark III EVMs besides VVPAT machines will be used for the by-polls.

Adding further it stated, “Elderly and differently-abled persons besides COVID-19 patients who are under quarantine can cast their votes through postal ballot.”

The CEO, in the release, further said that deletion or correction of electoral rolls will not be allowed but additions can be done 10 days before the last date for filing of nominations on October 20.

It may be mentioned here that by-polls to the seats of Saitu (ST) in Kangpokpi district, Singhat (ST) in Churachandpur, Lilong and Wangjing Tentha in Thoubal and Wangoi in Imphal West were necessitated after the sitting Congress MLAs elected in 2017 resigned from the party in August.