Meghalaya : Mini Secretariat at Jowai, Tura

A mini secretariat will be constructed in two district headquarters of the state, Jowai and Tura, said Meghalaya Deputy Chief Minister, Prestone Tynsong.

The announcement was made after the state government decided to relocate the PWD (Roads) North Division office from Jowai to Shangpung.

The District Headquarters of the former Jaiñtia Hills district has been divided into two districts : West Jaintia Hills and East Jaintia Hills districts.

Now the district headquarters of West Jaiñtia Hills is Jowai.

Tynsong, justifying the decision of shifting the PWD (Roads) North Division office to Shangpung said, it was taken to ease off set up of a mini secretariat at Jowai so that various departments including the office of the deputy commissioner could operate under one roof.

Tynsong stated, “We have 11 districts in the state, but out of 11, we are going to start building the mini secretariat in two oldest district headquarters at Jowai and Tura”.

The space available space for PWD (Roads) North Division office is approximately 5 acres.

Tynsong on the proposed mini secretariat said, the PWD (Buildings) would prepare the design, and the land of the PWD (Roads) at Jowai would be handed over to the district administration.

Tynsong added, “We would first start with these two district headquarters, and later a similar mini secretariat would be built in other district headquarters as well”.