Mizoram : Release of candidates list for AMC polls

Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) released its candidate list for elections to the 19-member Aizawl Municipal Corporation (AMC) on Monday.

The state election commission is yet to notify about the AMC polls.

The names of 19 candidates, which include six women for the reserved seats were announced by ZPM vice president K. Sapdanga.

As per ZPM general secretary Lalmunapuia Punte, 18 out of 19 candidates, including well-known TV presenter Baryl Vanneisangi are a debutant, while Lalthankhuma, a candidate from  AMC ward-XI had contested the municipal polls in 2015.

Sapdanga claimed to win the upcoming polls with the people’s support in ZPM.

Sapdanga said, “We will give priority to the people if we come to power in the AMC polls as ZPM’s motto is to have people’s government”. The party manifesto will be released by party leader Lalduhoma on Tuesday.

After its formation in August 2017, this will be the first municipal polls and third election to be contested by the 3-year old party.

After Zoramthanga led Mizo National Front (MNF), ZPM was the second single largest party in the state to win 7 seats in the assembly polls even though it was yet to get registration in 2018.

After its leader Lalduhoma got disqualified under anti-defection law in November last year, the party now has only 6 members in the 40-member assembly.

The ZPM also won 263 out of 2,454 seats in the village council polls across nine districts and 38 out of 1,565 seats in local council polls in Aizawl held in August last and became third after MNF and Congress.

According to sources, MNF will also release its list of candidates for the upcoming AMC polls.

The AMC was established in 2010 under the Mizoram Municipalities Act, 2007. There are 19 members, including 6 women (reserved seat).

MNF won 11 seats, followed by Congress who won 7 seats in the Municipal polls, 2015.

Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) achieved one  seat.