Nagaland : 8 candidates in fray for by-polls

Eight candidates left in the fray for the November 3 by-elections to two Assembly constituencies of 14 Southern Angami I (ST) and 60 Pungro-Kiphire (ST). The date of counting of votes is November 10.

According to an update provided by chief electoral officer (CEO), the candidates left in the fray for by-polls to 14-Southern Angami- I are NDPP’s Medo Yhokha, who is also PDA’s consensus candidate, NPF’s Kikovi Kirha and Seyievilie Peter Zashumo (Ind).

For by-election to 60- Pungro-Kiphire, the candidates in the fray are Khaseo Anar of Congress, Lirimong Sangtam of BJP/PDA consensus candidate, and three Independent– T Yangseo Sangtam, K Shellumthong and Kiusumew Yimchunger.

Polling will take place on November 3 between 6 a.m. and 4 p.m. While 14 Southern Angami – I has 13,641 (6,359 male, 7282 female) electors and 22 polling stations, 60 Pungro has a 29,601 (15,494 male, 14,107 female) electors with 77 polling stations.