Nagaland : By-poll results; NDPP win two seats

On Tuesday the results of the Nagaland by-polls held on November 3rd were declared.

The 60 Pungro-Kiphire seat was won by Independent candidate T Yangseo Sangtam in Kiphire district and 14 Southern Angami-I Assembly constituency was won by NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha in Kohima district.

The ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) supported NDPP candidate Yhokha.

Independent candidate Seyievilie Peter Zashumo was defeated by 615 votes by Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate Yhokha.

Yhokha polled 4,721 votes while the latter Zashumo got 4,106 votes.

Opposition Naga People’s Front (NPF) candidate Kikovi Kirha bagged third position with 2,565 votes.

Among the 13,541 voters in the constituency, Eighty-eight voters opted for NOTA (None of the Above).

Sangtam in the Pungro Kiphire constituency won by defeating his nearest rival, Independent candidate S Kiusumew Yimchunger by 1,527 votes.

Sangtam polled 8,747 votes while Yimchunger gathered 7,220 votes.

PDA’s consensus candidate, BJP’s Lirimong Sangtam stood third by polling 5,664 votes.

Five candidates were in the competition for the bypoll to Pungro-Kiphire seat.

Another Independent candidate, Shellumthong Yimchunger polled 5,388 votes while Congress’ Khaseo Anar got 347 votes.

Among the 29,346 voters in the constituency, 92 voters opted for NOTA altogether.

Yhokha was congratulated by the Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio on winning the Southern Angami seat.

Neiphiu tweeted, “Heartiest congratulations to NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha on winning 14 Southern Angami 1 by-election. I wish you all the best in serving the people of Nagaland”.